Demolition day caught on film… Blair Witch style.

4 Aug

You’re in for a bumpy ride folks. I took my camera along with me as I set to dismantling the rotting camper and my camera man skills leave a lot to be desired. So let’s just say if you found Blair Witch made you motion sick, then you might want to keep a little bag handy as you watch this.

I found a few things pretty funny about this video. Number one was a dog sighting early on- introductions were not made.  Number two was when I demonstrated my method for taking down the walls- the video was not sped up!  Number three happens at about 7:05 listen for it *plink* *thud*. And finally it’s kind of hilarious how by the last scene you can actually hear it in my voice how completely drained I was after a couple of hours of demolition spent in a toasty camper.

So as I mentioned in the last blog post, I’m about 70% done ridding the property of rotten wood. So you can just imagine how much was on the property before! A whole fence line was barricaded with rotting pallets of wood. I had to take as many down as  I could several weeks in a row. There were also several piles of branches from trimming trees over time, and a bit of fire wood too. Here are the pics.

This is probably the 8th time I've set a pile like this out on the curb.

This is probably the 8th time I’ve set a pile like this out on the curb.

These pallets were used to improvise a taller fence.

These pallets were used to improvise a taller fence. Since they’re sitting directly on the ground and have been around for years, they’re a rotten mess.

Behind is a small wrought iron fence that the dogs used to easily jump over in the winter. Now that's not a problem- but the ants are!

Behind is a small wrought iron fence that the dogs used to easily jump over in the winter. Now that’s not a problem- but the ants are!

Looks okay from the outside...

Starting from zero

Starting from zero

Demo time.

Demo time.

This camper wasn't commercially manufactured if you were wondering. It was built by my dad and his friends.

This camper wasn’t commercially manufactured if you were wondering. It was built by my dad and his friends.

I found that I only used my crowbars after my hammer. I couldn't seem to pry from the edges because they were often glued to the studs with construction adhesive.

I found that I only used my crowbars after my hammer. I couldn’t seem to pry from the edges because they were often glued to the studs with construction adhesive.

The wreckage will get curbed before I remove the roof and siding.

The wreckage will get curbed before I remove the roof and siding.

Leave a Reply

