Projects of every colour

14 Dec

I’ve been working away on projects – but unfortunately I haven’t had as much time for woodworking projects of late!

Projects outside the shop:

I have a really old car- one that I may have to retire in the coming years. I decided to convert it into an art car to see it out with a bang.

I have a really old car- one that I may have to retire in the coming years. I decided to convert it into an art car to see it out with a bang.

I picked up some white paint markers and researched what I wanted to put on the car, and then I set felt tip to enamel paint.

I picked up some white paint markers and researched what I wanted to put on the car, and then I set felt tip to enamel paint.

My goal is to cover most of the car with animals.

My goal is to cover most of the car with animals.

I've since set down my marker as the temps had me shivering as I worked... but the project will be ongoing.

I’ve since set down my marker as the temps had me shivering as I worked… but the project will be ongoing.

I also was working on this for quite a while, and finally wrapped it up a few days ago! I look forward to having more time for the shop now that my focus is shifting back towards woodworking.

I also was working on this for quite a while, and finally wrapped it up a few days ago! I look forward to having more time for the shop now that my focus is shifting back towards woodworking.

 

In fact…

I have this cheap ikea lamp that has been broken for ages- and yesterday the superglue failed and I had to tape it together...

I have this cheap ikea lamp that has been broken for ages- and yesterday the superglue failed and I had to tape it together…

...I kept it just to have the cylinder as a sample and thought maybe I should make a veneer replacement! Perhaps with marquetry if the curve allows. So now I have it in my mind that I am going to save this lamp and make it 100x better!

…I kept it just to have the cylinder as a sample and thought maybe I should make a veneer replacement! Perhaps with marquetry if the curve allows. So now I have it in my mind that I am going to save this lamp and make it 100x better!

What little I have accomplished in the shop:

My mom has a stool that failed recently. The upholstered seat broke down the middle.

My mom has a stool that failed recently. The upholstered LDF seat broke down the middle.

So it was my job to build a replacement seat.

So it was my job to build a replacement seat.

I started by pushing the two pieces of the seat as tightly together as possible to trace duplicates, then I cut out the plywood blanks on the table saw.

I started by pushing the two pieces of the seat as tightly together as possible to trace duplicates, then I cut out the plywood blanks on the table saw.

Next I cut out the curves...

Next I cut out the curves…

...at the bandsaw

…at the bandsaw

And finally I smoothed the bandsawn circle and I broke the edges so that the seat wouldn't feel uncomfortable.

And finally I smoothed the bandsawn circle and I broke the edges so that the seat wouldn’t feel uncomfortable.

Here's a picture of the stools to five you and idea of the finished product!

Here’s a picture of the stools to give you an idea of the finished product!

You may have noticed that I milled up two seats- that is because the stool is part of a set and I expect the other seat might fail somewhere along the line so I wanted to mill both at the same time to save myself the hassle later on! I would have replaced the other seat right away (before it fails!) except I couldn’t face all those staples again. By the time I had removed the staples from the first seat, mill up the seats, re-upholstered the seat and reassembled the stool, I was too tired to repeat the process for the second stool.

The holidays are coming and am every so pleased that I get about two weeks off from work. And while I expect a lot of visiting with family and friends I also plan to make some time to visit my shop and work on some shop fixtures that have been nagging at me- and some much needed woodworking projects. Stay tuned! Happy woodworking and happy holidays!

One Response to “Projects of every colour”

  1. bucho125 December 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    Really like to see the process of the car animal painting. Cool.

Leave a Reply

