Verdict is in…

17 Nov

….annnnnnd I have a white card! As of yesterday I accepted the offer to become a permanent worker- I’ll sign officially in a week or so.

Yehoo! For the first time in my life I have a secure job with benefits- for as long as I want it. Although most of my artist friends look down on my “factory job”  in Aerospace, I can’t help but feel proud of the accomplishment, and feel a bit giddy at some of the freedoms it will give me. It’s no ordinary factory job, there are no conveyor belts etc., we’re doing custom work in a more cozy setting . I have a calm and safe workplace, I build something that I’m proud of, and I’ve made some good friends.

What will become of me now!?

My original plan was to work at least two different jobs in the woodworking industry to diversify my experience and I’ve done that.

I also planned to work to buy tools. And I’ve done that. (and frankly there’s no end to the tools, but I have a great foundation now)

Next I planned to slowly but surely build a customer base by making furniture on the side. I wanted to start my business with the least amount of risk. That’s where I’m at now.

The goals stay the same but some are gaining priority…

The problem is that the third and final phase of my plan I’ve found to be a bit flawed in practice. I don’t have the energy to tackle full scale furniture projects on a deadline. I need to work at a leisurely pace, and still have time to live outside the shop. My first commission was a trial run that proved difficult on my everyday life. To make matters more complicated some of life’s other priorities have crept in- having a family and home-ownership are bumping my woodworking business plans down a peg or two.

The revised plan

I still plan to start my own woodworking business, but I want to put less pressure on myself and say that it happens when it happens. I need to actually discover what my niche will be- which I’d like to come to in a natural way by experimenting. I would hate to start hastily by doing the first thing that comes to mind and then get pegged into making a particular product that I didn’t even feel passionate about. The world feels full of possibility again!

Let the experiments begin!

5 Responses to “Verdict is in…”

  1. Marilyn November 17, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Sounds perfect to me. Congratulations! .. on all it. 🙂

  2. Martha Black November 17, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    yeehaaaa! Congratulations! We’re proud of you and all you’ve accomplished.
    Love, Martha and Bill

  3. The Butler Did It WoodWorks November 17, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    You would believe how many of us started out in almost the exact same way. It’s a great thing it’s not a race! 😀 Congrats Samantha!!

  4. ChrisHasFlair November 19, 2012 at 3:34 am #

    Hi Samantha,

    Congratulations on securing your day job. It sounds like you’ve got everything under control and your revised plan sounds pretty good to me.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

