Hard copy Magazines and Online Subscriptions

15 Nov

Hey friends! I’ve been thinking of subscribing to one or two new woodworking magazines/websites to diversify my woodworking fount of knowledge.

Currently I only subscribe to Finewoodworking online. Once upon a time I received hard copy of the magazine but I hate storing them and finding info in the stack is painstaking. I much prefer searching a database of articles and printing out the ones that are pertinent to the task at hand. Or flipping through the magazine online so that I don’t have to store the thing afterwards.

So here are my questions to you:

Do you prefer hard copy or online magazine subscriptions?

And most importantly:

Which are your favourite subscriptions? (I could use the advice before subscribing willy nilly!)

 

 

6 Responses to “Hard copy Magazines and Online Subscriptions”

  1. Marilyn November 15, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Popular woodworking is my favorite but that’s because the tend to talk more about hand tools. I agree on digital. Another thought you might consider is to buy the annual CD version of the hole year. Currently, I get PW in digital subscription one at a time. My goal is to switch all my subscriptions over to digital for the same reasons you named,

    I also found that the at Wood Whisperer site has so much free stuff on it, it took me quite a while to get through all of his free content.

    • Warped Boards November 16, 2012 at 2:31 am #

      Thanks for the feedback Marilyn! I think I will subscribe to Popular Woodworking now

      • tombuhl August 6, 2013 at 11:23 am #

        Just found your blog through your comment on Marilyn’s blog. I’ll give a strong 2nd to the suggestion on the Woodworking Magazine archive CDs. That spoke my language. Felt like a grad school seminar, without the baggage of school. I still like paper, but as you mentioned, searching for back material is not fun. For that reason I subscribe to FWW online whatever they call it. Even if I have the issue, I’d rather search online and even print out the PDF if I want to take it into the shop. Also is nice to write notes all over the printed copy if desired without trashing the magazine.

        I am a big fan of The WoodWhisperer, especially the Guild. Only project I’ve ever build “with” them is the Roubo work bench, but following along other projects is good for tips, approaches and community.

        Take care,
        tom buhl
        http://www.tombuhl.com

  2. ChrisHasFlair November 16, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    Hi Samantha,

    I spend enough time online and don’t need to read magazines or newspapers here too.

    I used to read a variety of magazines, but the only one I read with any frequency is Canadian Woodworking (& Home Improvement). There are actually some fresh ideas in that magazine! Also, some of the UK and Australian (Australian Wood Review) magazines seem to be quite good, if pricey for us North Americans.

    Chris

    • Warped Boards November 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

      I’ll look into those! The UK hadn’t occurred to me and I’m sure they have a nice variety of magazines because the woodworking community seems to be so healthy over there. Thanks for the input as always Chris!

  3. thekiltedwoodworker November 30, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    I’m a fan of paper, myself. But digital is obviously more convenient.

    You should try to get the digital copies of Woodworking Magazine. It was a no-ads magazine collaboration of Chris Schwarz and Steve Shanesy a few years ago. It was finally merged with Popular Woodworking to create Popular Woodworking Magazine.

    I’m pretty sure they sell digital copies of it on the Popwood magazine website.

    It is by far my most favorite woodworking magazine. I was sad to see it go.

Leave a Reply

