For better or for worse… additions to the shop

10 Jul

The UPS fairy visited my shop this past week- while I was at work. I couldn’t wait to head over to the shop this past weekend and unwrap my new lovelies. I mentioned the need for them in a recent post; clamps and chisels!

So here are the new additions… for better or for worse

I chose the jrs because of the price, and because they are 30% lighter than regular k-body revo clamps. When I handled these Jr’s though I felt like they were much more delicate than the regular Revos that I use at work… I guess time will tell how well they stand up to regular use. I got four 36″ clamps to compliment the other sizes of clamps in my oh-so modest collection.

For the chisels I chose  A2 steel Lie Nielsen bevel edge chisels, sizes 1/4″, 3/8″ and 3/4. I did research on which chisel sizes people recommend getting, and the results were inconclusive- most answers varied wildly depending on the woodworker. So I chose sizes specific to the types of projects I see in my future. Oh yeah and I got the longer handle while I was at it.

The clamps already found a nice place to hang out, but for the chisels I plan to make a leather roll to store them in. Seeing as I already have scraps of leather, I couldn’t justify the $75 price tag for a LN roll. That’s a project I imagine I’ll have completed by the end of the week- time to get sewing!

I made progress with the toy chest this weekend and a wrap-up post will follow soon. Looking forward to getting the toy chest out of the shop and getting back to some cherry tables I started a while ago!

3 Responses to “For better or for worse… additions to the shop”

  1. ChrisHasFlair July 10, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    Samantha,

    I’m a little surprised the Revo Jr. clamps don’t have the new rubber/plastic handles. I find the wooden handles difficult to grip so I wrapped mine with bicycle innertube strips. Others use cloth hockey (athletic) tape.

    Good choice with the chisels. I like their balance.

    Chris

    • Warped Boards July 10, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      Good tip, thanks! I think I have some rubber tape I could try.

  2. Megan Rain July 10, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    I am with you Sister, you can never have enough of the right size clamps! How often have I thought “if I only had 2 more!” xoxMegan

Leave a Reply

