First video…

3 Jun

Here’s a video I made while working on the toy chest a few days ago.  I was working on the rails that I’d cut too short, and since I decided to shorten the panel sides,  I was now re-establishing the shoulders of the tenons to make the tenons longer. I used a cross cut sled on the table saw with a stop block clamped to the cross cut sled. I cut the tenon cheeks later on the bandsaw.


As you may or may not know I just recently adjusted the alignment of my tablesaw, and crosscut sled, and was quite pleased with the results of these cuts- they all lined up perfectly.

I feel obliged to mention that I have a plexi-glass guard above the spinning blade,  and my hands and work piece (on the return) are well away from the blade though the camera angle doesn’t make that clear. And to those new to woodworking turning off the saw in between cuts is safer- always.

2 Responses to “First video…”

  1. ChrisHasFlair June 4, 2012 at 2:15 am #

    Samantha,

    That’s a nice, easy first video demonstrating safe practices and good results. I remember my first video where I had to talk to the camera… many, many takes were required. Many.

    Keep up the good work!

    Chris

    • Warped Boards June 4, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      Lol, yeah I’m still camera shy, so easy does it.

Leave a Reply

